The ‘Fresh Face’ of Beauty

The concept of ‘#nomakeup’ has become prominent and I think it has set a new standard of beauty. Not the idea that you need to have a perfect smokey eye or the best cat eye liner (one trick I am certain I will never be able to master, I am cat-eye inept) but rather that fresh nude face.

Now, we may not all be comfortable being completely without makeup. I know that I’m not comfortable going completely but I try my best to stay minimal. My routine consists of most of the normal everyday wear(concealer, foundation, blah blah blah), covering the face and hiding the imperfections. I have struggled with acne for years and still haven’t felt ‘free’ enough to go without the chains of makeup but after reading a New York Times article from a few months back, I don’t think I’m alone in my quest to stay somewhat bare. The article quoted Diane Kendal, a New York-based makeup artist who is known for creating some of the best bare-faced runway looks, as saying “Being fresh-faced gives you an air of confidence.”

Diane Kendal has helped make the days of over-the-top runway makeup almost obsolete and it is truly evident when you look at New York Fashion Week of 2014. Diane’s 2014 looks for the runway did away with lipstick and even mascara (my coveted favorite tool in my makeup toolbox)!

Now, I know that I won’t be able to get rid of my favorite mascara, by favorite I mean the fifteen different ones that I choose from daily, but I’m curious if anyone else out there has simplified their makeup routine to give them a more natural look? Are the days of intense contouring that we’ve all tried to learn off of Pinterest gone? What is your most coveted product? Is this fresh face the new glam look?

What do you think?

XOXO Em

3 thoughts on “The ‘Fresh Face’ of Beauty

  1. Your blog topic is a really good idea, because makeup and other beauty essentials are often very expensive and people are always looking for ways to save money. The minimalist makeup trend is a good way to save money too; I often just do a BB cream, powder and mascara which saves a lot of time and money.

    Like

  2. As Wendy Williams would say, keep your budget “cheap and cheerful”. Buy products that look and work well, but at cheap prices. I personally stopped buying as much makeup because a natural look is the way to go now…and because I’m the average broke college student. womp womp womp.

    Like

  3. I love this blog because makeup can be SO expensive! I’m so glad you put “Elf” up there because I sometimes use their products! Thank for the help! Next time I shop for makeup I’ll be keeping this in mind!

    Like

Leave a Reply

