An Unusual Reminder

Its funny how much those little things mean to us. If its one thing I’ve learned through the years, its that nothing is as insignificant as it feels in that moment. I guess what I mean is that I never expected that some of the movies I’d seen as kids would have such a huge impact on me as I grew up. You really don’t think about the movies you watched endlessly when you were too young to understand them. Sometimes, when you look back, it can be really eye-opening.

If you’ve read my blog before, you might know at least one of my favorite movies, Clueless.giphy I‘ve always connected to this movie. I remember being a kid and just watching it, fascinated by everything about Cher Horowitz. Everything from her blonde hair that wasn’t too blonde but just blonde enough. The way she dressed, which was like…totally far out! Not only were her outfits on point, but her words of wisdom were just so great. This is one of the movies that I’ve spent the past 20 years of my life obsessed with. The more time I’ve spent thinking about it, the more this movie has meant to me.

I mean…Cher had everything that every totally 90’s girl wanted: a massive closet and a computer to put her outfits together (ugh I wish) and a cute white jeep she was driving even without a license (two permits DO NOT equal a license, Cher). Her innocence and ignorance just helped her win such a special place in my heart. Cher was the good girl of the group, something that helped me with many decisions in my life. She taught me to be true to myself before pleasing others.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-19113-1366224274-1

 

Cher, like all of us, sometimes tried a little too hard. She practically threw herself at a guy who’d turn out to be gay. And GOODNESS it was a mess. But through everything she did, she always let confidence come forward and shine, regardless of what she was feeling. She taught me to be confident, even when I screw up. She taught me its okay to try new things, go out of my way to do something, and to just go with it if it doesn’t go my way!

anigif_enhanced-buzz-18469-1366223505-3

But the best thing about Cher? She always striked me as surprisingly human for a superficial valley girl. Things got her down and out, and we got to see it. When things didn’t go her way, she literally was ‘clueless’, like we all can be sometimes. Cher taught me that its okay to have moments of doubt. No one is perfect and you should just be yourself.

So call me crazy if I’m the only one in the world who relates so much to this movie (UGH, as if!). I could go on and on about what makes me love this movie but truthfully, its a feeling that has always stuck with me since I first saw this movie. Everyone has something that they love and this (amongst many other movies) is one of my things.

I like to think of this movie as my reminder that even the most beautiful people can have their fair share of normal struggles! I watch it every now and then to have a few laughs and remind myself of the things I was so full of as a child. Honesty, courage and confidence. These three things I strive to be every day. Although I might not be 100% every day, I’m only human and I’m working on it!

What movies did you learn valuable life lessons from? Were there any movies that you grew up with that you can take a second look at now and see new things?

 

XOXO
Em

Leave a Reply

