October Birchbox Review

So now that I’ve received my November Birchbox (I can’t even tell you how excited I am), I figured it was time to finally give you a review of the products I received in my October Birchbox.

I can already say that after two months with my Birchbox subscription, its most certainly worth it. I’ve gotten many products in these two boxes that I probably wouldn’t have tried on my own but having them put in front of me I got to experience them and try new things. I love everything I’ve received so far!

A REMINDER: If any of the products you see in this post peak your interest, I have linked the pictures to the Birchbox site where you can purchase that item!

 

Vasanti BrightenUp! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator

I have very sensitive skin and this product was a little bit harsh on my skin but nothing a bit of moisturizer can’t fix. It definitely changed the way my skin looked, I felt the tone of my skin was brightened up after just a few uses. It does a great job of exfoliating and with a good moisturizer afterwards, it totally helps make your face so much softer. Its certainly a good product for an on-the-go quick face wash when you don’t have time to give yourself your full beauty routine.

As far as price point goes, this is a little bit more expensive than I would usually spend on a product but if you want something that will help make skin look and feel better than this is probably where to turn. For a 4.23oz tube, the price is $34 through Birchbox!

Dr. Jart+ Black Label Detox BB Beauty Balm

A good friend of mine, she actually writes a wordpress blog TV Gaga, has told me about this product long before I got my first Birchbox. She has been receiving Birchboxes for over a year and this was one of the products she was most excited about. Imagine my surprise when I opened my first box and there it was. I see what she was so obsessed with. This is one of the first BB Creams that didn’t make my skin feel oily or like there wasn’t too little coverage. By using this product and a beauty blender, I was able to achieve such a nice look. Its a very light product that you don’t need to use too much of, it goes on nice and evenly covers the whole face!

It is at the top of my makeup budget, at about $36 for a 1.5oz bottle.

BUT LET ME TELL YOU, if you are looking for a BB Cream that will actually do its job, this is worth it. You need the smallest amount to make it go a long way and if used in small amounts it can last you a long time. The small bottle I got for a sample has lasted me a few weeks now with only a handful of uses but I know for a fact that you can make the larger size go a long way!

They also make many other BB Creams that I’ve heard are all great so depending on what you are looking to get out of a BB Cream, you might want to look in the direction of Dr. Jart+!

 

Dr. Lipp Original Nipple Balm for Lips

I love this product. I have a really hard time finding something to soothe my constantly dry and cracked lips without making them even worse an hour later but this did the trick.

Just the smallest dab of this product can glaze over your lips and make them feel so smooth. It does an awesome job of hydrating and healing and its such a perfect sized little bottle.

At the price of $14.50 for a 15ml tube, I think it may be worth it in terms of helping heal my worst issue in the world. I would certainly spend $14.50 for a product that has worked as well as this one has for me.

 

amika Perk Up Dry Shampoo

I really liked this dry shampoo. Compared to others I’ve used, it went on relatively clear (I mean it isn’t going to be 100% clear but whatever, I don’t mind) and smelled so great. Its so fragrant as compared to other brands I’ve used and it made me feel better about using dry shampoo to combat my usually oily second day hair.

The sample size bottle I got was basically a travel size and I’ve been keeping it in my purse. A little goes a long way with this product. What I’ve been doing is spraying some in my hair and some into my brush and brushing it through my hair.

On the Birchbox site, a 5.3 oz bottle goes for $21 dollars. If you can make dry shampoo last, its worth the price. Otherwise, a bargain brand will do if you just blow through it like me, but remember, you get what you pay for!

Coastal Scents Revealed 2 Palette

I love the colors in this pallet. In my sample, I only got four small samples of a set called Ballerina. In comparison to the Urban Decay Naked pallets everyone is so obsessed with, the colors I got are literally the ones I use the most when I use my friends pallets. I love the way the eyeshadow looks, you don’t need to cake it on. It goes on so smooth and light. The colors are vibrant and with some primer underneath (I never wear eyeshadow without primer so I couldn’t tell you what it would work like without the primer under it). 

The full pallet has 20 shadows and is in my opinion, a perfect combination of all the colors we ALL love to wear. The price, for 20 shadows, is severely less than other pallets that the world obsesses over. The price of this pallet is only $19.95 and its so worth it. The neutral shades are so wonderful and I can’t wait to actually purchase it. 

Miracle Skin Transformer Miracle Revival Mud

As great as this product was, the smell was a little bit putrid for me. I’ve only used it once so far but the directions say to use it like 3 times a week so I’m going to give it a few more tries. But I can tell you this much, it does all it says it will. It makes skin feel smooth and tight and well moisturized. For someone like me, with terribly dry skin, I wasn’t upset after using this. It didn’t make my skin irritated or itchy, it literally soothed every itch. 

Aside from the smell, which made me gag a little bit but who knows if it bugs anyone but me, I like this product.

For a 3.88 oz jar is $38! Now I can tell you this much, this is another product where a little goes a long way. It goes on smooth like lotion and it will be fairly translucent. You don’t need to cake it up and make your face look like there is actual mud covering it. It soaks into your pores and make your skin all kinds of soft.

Worth the price if your looking for a mud mask that will make your skin like a little baby bum! 

 


 

OKAY SO, here ya go! My October Birchbox! I’ve already started putting together my November review, giving myself enough time to properly test each item and make it work to its full potential! 

I hope you enjoy this review and give a little though into either purchasing some of these products or going ahead and getting yourself a Birchbox! 

Its well worth the cost if you’re looking to give some new products a try and get some really cool stuff! 

With the price of a monthly box, only $10, you get so many worth while products1

Here’s my link: If you sign up for Birchbox after reading this post, use my link and give me some Birchbox points for referring you! 

 

Try these products out or if you already have, let me know what you think about them! 

If you get a Birchbox or plan to get one, what are some of the products you are hoping to get out of them?! 

I love to hear feedback from anyone reading my blog, so just leave me a comment or two ;* 

XOXO

Em

One thought on “October Birchbox Review

Leave a Reply

